Alaska Auto Liability Insurance Coverage

Category: Our Blog

Alaskans are required by law to purchase auto liability insurance coverage. This type of coverage  protects you when you are financially responsible for an accident. Drivers are required to have minimum liability limits of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for Bodily Injury (BI) and $25,000 per accident for Property Damage (PD) 

Bodily injury coverage pays for medical costs, pain and suffering, loss of income and other expenses caused as a result of your negligence. On the other hand, property damage repairs or replaces the damaged property of others when caused by your negligence.

Experts recommend purchasing more than the state minimums to protect yourself against possible seizure of your home, savings, future wages and other assets in case of an accident. If at fault and sued, you could become financially liable for expenses such as court costs and lawyer fees, as well as any related damages.

As you shop for auto insurance, be sure to  discuss these issues with your agent.  The more informed you are, the better decisions you will make when purchasing insurance.

Comments are closed.